Homepage / News / News Article

Formula Renault 2.0

The Group A drivers were the first out in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup. Esteban Ocon, Patrick Kujala and Norman Nato set the pace early on before Stoffel Vandoorne upped the tempo.

The Belgian took provisional pole in 1m 35.85s. Behind him Oliver Rowland, Ocon and Nato battled for second place. Vandoorne twisted the knife in the wound by improving to 1m 35.543s and then pitted before everybody else. Rowland moved up to second while Miko Pakari snatched third on his final flying lap.

The first of the Group B drivers to get near the Belgian’s time was Daniil Kvyat in 1m 36.589s. He held on to first place in front of Alex Riberas, Stefan Wackerbauer and Melville McKee when the session was red-flagged after Roman Beregech went off.

On the restart Kvyat improved and set the fastest lap in Group B but he was not quick enough to knock Vandoorne off pole. He got round in 1m 36.136s followed by Wackerbauer and Riberas.

Stoffel Vandoorne will start from pole for the third time this year in front of Kvyat.

Stoffel Vandoorne: “I set a good time even if I think I made two or three small mistakes. As Daniil Kvyat is alongside me I’ll have to make a good start. Since the weekend began I’ve been just in front of him; I hope it’ll continue in the race.”

Daniil Kvyat: “I didn’t do a good lap. I put a wheel on the grass when I set my quickest time. There aren’t too many places to overtake here so I’ll have to seize the slightest opportunity.”

Stefan Wackerbauer: “We’ve been improving over the past few events and here I’ve scored my best qualification of the year. The circuit suits me down to the ground, and for once I’m on a level footing with everybody as nobody’s driven here before.”

Official Renault Sport Press Release.

Posted: 14 July 2012
We would love to discuss your needs Contact us on +44 (0)1905 678 066 or email [email protected] Online Enquiry
We are recruiting If you want to join our dynamic and focused team, get in touch now!
Apply Now