Homepage / News / News Article

Formula Renault 3.5

The World Series by Renault Organising Committee has selected 13 teams and two substitute teams from the 18 applicant teams for the 2012 Formula Renault 3.5 Series. Eleven of the teams participating in 2011 will be lining up on the grid once again next season. The remaining two teams will be DAMS, which will make its return to the competition, and Arden International Ltd., which will be competing for the first time in Formula Renault 3.5 Series.

Today, on Monday 17 October, the World Series by Renault Organising Committee published the list of 13 teams it selected to participate in the 2012 Formula Renault 3.5 Series, in which a new car developed by Renault Sport Technologies will be used. From among the 18 applicants, all of which presented solid guarantees and coherent projects, the Organising Committee selected the 13 participating teams based on their sporting experience and on marketing and financial considerations.

The thirteen teams, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

- Arden International Ltd.
- BVM Target
- Carlin
- Comtec Racing
- International Draco Racing
- Fortec Motorsports
- Gravity-Charouz
- KMP Racing
- P1 Motorsport
- Pons Racing
- Tech 1 Racing

Two teams have been placed on a waiting list:
- Koiranen Motorsport
- Epic Racing

The teams chosen have until 15 January 2012 to meet their contractual obligations to ensure that their participation is confirmed.

The 11 teams that participated in 2011 will be joined in the paddock by Arden International Ltd. and DAMS.

Arden International Ltd. was formed in 1997 by Christian and Garry Horner. In 2000, Arden won its first Euro F3000 title. The British outfit went on to win the F3000 team championship in 2002 and the driver and team championships in 2003 and 2004, with drivers Bjorn Wirdheim and Vitantonio Liuzzi. Since 2005, the team created by Christian Horner, who is now team manager of Red Bull Racing, has participated in the GP2 Series, and since 2010 it has also participated in the GP3 Series, in collaboration with Formula One driver Mark Webber.

Formed in 1988, DAMS has taken part several times in the Le Mans 24 Hours race and has a wonderful history of success in single-seater racing: three F3000 championships, in 1990 (Erik Comas), 1993 (Olivier Panis) and 1994 (Jean-Christophe Boullion); the 2003 Eurocup Formula Renault V6 championship (José María López); two GP2 Asia Series championships, in 2009 (Kamui Kobayashi) and 2011 (Romain Grosjean); and the 2011GP2 Series drivers’ championship (Romain Grosjean). DAMS also competed in the 2005 Formula Renault 3.5 Series.

Official Renault Sport Press Release.

Posted: 17 October 2011
We would love to discuss your needs Contact us on +44 (0)1905 678 066 or email [email protected] Online Enquiry
We are recruiting If you want to join our dynamic and focused team, get in touch now!
Apply Now