Homepage / News / News Article

Eurocup Mégane Trophy

The Eurocup Megane Trophy 2011 title has long been decided, with the unbeatable Stefano Comini (Oregon Team) sauntering to victory at Silverstone, where Oregon Team also sealed the maiden team championship in the discipline. All that remains to be resolved at Barcelona is whether Niccolò Nalio (Oregon Team) or Bas Schothorst (TDS Racing) will take second place in the overall standings. The honours in the Gentlemen Drivers’ championship have also been decided, with David Dermont holding an unassailable lead over TDS Racing team-mate Wim Beelen after the Paul Ricard HTTT races.

To say that Stefano Comini has dominated the season would be something of an understatement, as his near-flawless record of 10 wins in 12 races, one second place and seven fastest laps suggests. The 21-year-old Swiss, who switched from single-seaters to saloon cars last season, is one of the youngest-ever winners in the discipline and has set a new record for season wins. His stunning performances have earned him an invitation from NISMO and Renault Sport Technologies to sit at the wheel of a Nissan GT-R GT1 in early December.

There is no question of Comini easing off, however, as he showed at the Paul Ricard HTTT, where his insatiable appetite fired him to another win. Two drivers determined to stop him going out on a high note are Niccolò Nalio and Bas Schothorst, respectively second and third in the standings and the only other men to have topped the podium this year. Only 20 points separate the duo, who will both be going flat out for victory on a track they know well and which is perfectly suited to the characteristics of this high-performance saloon car, which remains a big hit with World Series by Renault fans. Fifth-placed Grégory Guilvert (Team Lompech Sport) will also be hoping to end his promising campaign with a win.

Lying sixth and seventh respectively, Fabien Thuner (Boutsen Energy Racing) and Michele Faccin (Boutsen Energy Racing) will both be out to make a mark, especially with budgets for 2012 now being finalised. The Swiss and the Italian have both had podium finishes this season, but are still searching for their debut wins in the discipline.

Fourth overall, David Dermont made sure of the Gentlemen Drivers’ title at the Paul Ricard HTTT. Despite recording eight wins in the category, the Belgian has been pushed all the way by Wim Beelen, while only a handful of points separate Toni Forné (Pujolaracing), Jeroen Schothorst (TDS Racing) and Jean-Charles Miginiac (Team Lompech Sport), who are all battling it out for third. Local boy Forné, who posted his first Gentlemen’s Trophy win in France, will be particularly keen to win that three-way duel in front of his fans.

With the season about to end, the Eurocup Megane Trophy teams are already preparing for 2012. They will all take part in collective testing on the Monday following the Barcelona meeting, providing an excellent opportunity to give new drivers their first taste of this unique car. Renault Sport Technologies has also invited the winners of the national Clio Cup competitions for a Megane Trophy test drive along with the leading junior Eurocup Clio driver.

Official Renault Sport Press Release.

Posted: 03 October 2011
We would love to discuss your needs Contact us on +44 (0)1905 678 066 or email [email protected] Online Enquiry
We are recruiting If you want to join our dynamic and focused team, get in touch now!
Apply Now