Homepage / News / News Article

Formula Renault 2.0

Group A

Group A with the leader Daniil Kvyat was the first to come out this morning. Paul-Loup Chatin, Norman Nato, Kvyat and Javier Tarancon set the pace early on.

The classification was changing just when Nick Cassidy went off leading to a red flag and the interruption of the session. Nato was quickest at the time before the drivers then went out for a final flyer. Andrea Pizzitola set the fastest time in the group in 2m 19.084s from Nato.

Group B

The Group B drivers went out to beat Pizzitola. Stoffel Vandoorne immediately set a target time followed by Alex Riberas and Oliver Rowland with Pierre Gasly also involved for the battle for first place.

Rowland and Vandoorne were the first to beat Pizzitola’s best, and with a lap in 2m 18.772s the English driver topped the time sheets with 5 minutes to go to the flag. On home turf Vandoorne wasn’t having any and beat Rowland’s time. Gasly dashed the Belgian’s hopes with a lap in 2m 18.196s setting his first pole in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup.

Pierre Gasly: “I’m really delighted with this pole. I love this circuit and I scored my first single-seater win here last year in Formula 4. It’s good to be on pole but making a good start here isn’t enough. You have to really go pedal to the metal right from the green light to stop your rivals taking advantage of slipstreaming.”

Stoffel Vandoorne: “Pierre put in a good lap. My car was working well, but I wasn’t able to go quicker than him. Starting from the second row isn’t much of a disadvantage on this circuit where you can pass.”

Official Renault Sport Press Release

Posted: 02 June 2012
We would love to discuss your needs Contact us on +44 (0)1905 678 066 or email [email protected] Online Enquiry
We are recruiting If you want to join our dynamic and focused team, get in touch now!
Apply Now