Homepage / News / News Article

Formula Renault 2.0

Group B

Stoffel Vandoorne set the early pace in Group B, but was soon overtaken by Carlos Sainz Jr (Koiranen Motorsport) and Will Stevens (Fortec Motorsports) all battling for the quickest time.

Norma Nato went fastest with a lap in 1m 43.693s just before the red flag came out after Oscar Andres Tunjo (Josef Kaufmann Racing) crashed.

The session restarted for just over three minutes, but nobody beat Nato’s time and he finished first in Group B in front of Carlos Sainz Jr., Johan Jokinen (Keo Racing) Stoffel Vandoorne and Will Stevens.

Group A

Robin Frijns (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Daniil Kvyat (Koiranen Motorsport) set the tempo in Group A. Both drivers got close to Nato’s time, and the Russian was the first to beat the Frenchman with a lap in 1m 43.458s.

Alex Riberas who made a quiet start to the session waited till the end to set pole by just 1/1000s!

Alex Riberas: “A thousandth of a second, it’s incredible! Yesterday, I made a mistake in qualifying and that cost me pole. Then things didn’t work out well in the race. This morning’s pole is very encouraging and a win at home to finish the season would be just perfect!”

Official Renault Sport Press Release.

Posted: 09 October 2011
We would love to discuss your needs Contact us on +44 (0)1905 678 066 or email [email protected] Online Enquiry
We are recruiting If you want to join our dynamic and focused team, get in touch now!
Apply Now