Homepage / News / News Article

Formula Renault 2.0

The 38 drivers entered for the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup were split into 2 groups: even numbers in Group A and uneven ones in Group B.

Group A was first out and Nick de Vries (R-Ace GP) quickly set a target time with a lap in 1m 57.308s. Under threat from Oliver Rowland and Oscar Tunjo, de Vries upped the pace and bagged provisional pole in 1m 56.434s on his first qualifying session in a single-seater! Into second came Norman Nato (RC Formula) followed by Miki Weckstrom (KTR).

The aim of the drivers in Group B was to beat de Vries’ time to bag pole. The experienced Daniil Kvyat (Koiranen Motorsport), Paul-Loup Chatain (Tech 1 Racing) and Stoffel Vandoorne (KTR) went to the front early on.

Kvyat was the first to bear de Vries’ time in 1m 56.325s to take provisional pole. He stayed out in order to go faster if necessary. Pierre Gasly (R-Ace-GP) got close to the Russian’s time, but not close enough to pose a threat. So Kvyat clinched the first pole of the 2012 FR 2.0 Eurocup season (and the third in his career).


Daniil Kvyat: “This pole is the outcome of our work during the winter. Making a mistake was out of the question as I watched the first session and saw that it would be very tight. I have to keep my feet on the ground and count on my experience to make the difference in the race.”

Nyck de Vries: “I asked my team not to give me any information during the session as I wanted to concentrate on my driving 100%. I felt I was putting in good laps and that paid off. Honestly, I didn’t expect to achieve this result so early on in the season.”

Official Renault Sport Press Release.

Posted: 05 May 2012
We would love to discuss your needs Contact us on +44 (0)1905 678 066 or email [email protected] Online Enquiry
We are recruiting If you want to join our dynamic and focused team, get in touch now!
Apply Now